Fantasy, schmantasy.

Posted: August 2, 2010 in Fantasy sports, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As always, the opinions in this blog are only those of the author. Of course, the world would be a little more awesome if everyone thought like me.

Hello, and welcome to quite possibly the lamest portion of your day The Blacktooth Files (if this is your first time reading)! I’m still trying to figure this thing out, so things will be probably look different each time you check back here. I want to thank all the readers who patiently waited for updates when I was still going through Blogspot. It’s a new hopefully less boring chapter for TBF, and I hope that you decide to stay along for the boredom ride.

Many of you have probably heard of fantasy football in some way, shape, or form. You’ve either had friends/mates/spouses/family members who have played, or if you’re like me, you’ve wasted your time and sucked royally played yourself. And you’re not alone: fantasy football is kind of a big deal. The NFL, ESPN, CBS, and even Yahoo (to name a few) have fantasy football games that you can play. So let’s just say that it’s a little impossible for you to say, “I really want to play fantasy football, but I don’t know where to play.”

Don't worry, there are plenty of people available to play fantasy football with!

Now, when it comes to my own fantasy football experience, let’s just say that it’s been a work in progress. I did win a league twice—in 2004 (rode the Priest Holmes-McNabb-Chad Pennington train) and 2008 (Michael Turner was a burner indeed). Other than that, le sigh. I’ve had countless screw-ups (Reggie Wayne scored 3 TDs against Denver, I had him on the bench that week) and strings of bad luck (Tiki Barber decided to let loose in the last game of the season, after I had already been eliminated from the playoffs). I’ve even retired from fantasy football three times. But hey, I didn’t tell you that.

So have I learned my lesson from all the grade A screw ups from fantasy years gone by? Hell no! As a matter of fact, this post is actually an open invitation to any and everyone (well, at least ten people) who’s into fantasy football, and would want the dubious honor shame privilege of being in the first ever La Liga de TBF. The league will be through ESPN, and will have the following setup:

  • 10 teams,2 divisions of five each
  • Full season, playoffs start Week 14
  • Mostly standard scoring, extra points for things worth getting extra points for (200 yd rushing games, 400 yd passing games, etc.)
  • 16 players on a roster (1 QB, 3 RBs, one flex [RB/WR], two WRs, one TE, a team defense and kicker
  • Depending on the location of the participants the draft will either be in person or online
  • The winner will receive an actual trophy: The Daisy Cup (what it look like is TBD)

These are just some of the details about La Liga. If you are indeed interested, I’ll need to know by no later than August 20, 2010 (the season does start next month, after all. If you want to join, you can:

  • Let me know via Twitter
  • Email me: tbfilesblog[at]yahoo.com

Thanks for nothing, Tiki!! How's life with the mistress these days?

I’m not going to say that this will be the best decision you’ve ever made in your life, but hey, if you’re going to waste time playing fantasy football, why not do it with people who…are fun and awesome?!!?

Comments
  1. […] (Fantasy football draft recap) Jump to Comments As you may recall, I wrote a blog about forming a fantasy football league. Well, it turns out that I am actually able to accomplish something that I set out to do! We had the […]

Leave a Reply

