When all you want is football.

Posted: August 8, 2010 in Football, NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , , ,

As always, the opinions in this blog are only those of the author. And don’t worry, I’m not going to pull a Tiki Barber anytime soon.

I almost refrained from even watching the Dallas-Cincinnati tilt since it’s: a. A pre-season game where the starters may play one series at best and b. I’m not sure I could handle the promos for the stupid NBC shows coming this fall. But then I thought to myself: “Jordy, what’s wrong with you?!!? THIS IS FOOTBALL! Alas, here I am. For the first time on Word Press, here’s my stab a the Hall of Fame Game Blog EN VIVO!

TOcho! The NFL's new power couple!

(All times Eastern)
10:39 pm: You didn’t think I’d actually watch the entire game, did you? Fortunately, we’re picking up at a commercial break in the fourth quarter.

10:40 pm: NFL.com wants you to take advantage of the first ever fantasy game with video. Um, why the hell does that even matter?

10:41 pm: So they’re highlighting the great night from Michael Johnson of the Bengals. I must say that, um, doesn’t look like he had to fight through many blocks!

10:43 pm: Al Michaels says that he doesn’t think Brett Favre “needs all the attention.” Um, do you keep up with the NFL, Al?

10:45 pm: I think Brett Favre is done, by the way. I hope so, only because this means that all these people saying that he will return will have to rush for ways to cover up their bad prediction.

10:48 pm: Jordan Shipley with the classic rookie move. As in, letting the punt bounce right near the goal line so the other team could down it at the 1/2 yard line.

10:51 pm: Jordan Palmer. He’s no Carson, that’s for sure. Not a good night for guys named “Jordan,” it seems.

10:52 pm: Tony Romo thinks Dez Bryant has good hands. Can’t be messing those hands up by carrying another guy’s shoulder pads!

I don't think Wade is very keen on working out with his players, or at all, eh?

10:54 pm: A Matt Jones sighting! Drink!

10:56 pm: Random, yet somewhat relevant tweet: I don’t have a word count, but it’s clear NBC has spent markedly more time talking w/ Romo than any HOF inductee outside of Rice/Emmitt. (via @PreSnapRead)

10:58 pm: The good thing about live blogging a football game (instead of soccer)? The massive number of commercials gives you time for drink refills!

11:01 pm: Fun football drinking game idea! Drink every time you hear the following: penetration, Brett Favre, burst, the phrases “when you talk about” and “when you look at,” Matt Jones, when the quarterback licks his fingers, Lee Corso says “not so fast my friend,” throughout a Lou Holtz pep talk, and any false start penalty. Also, when DirecTV lies tells you about watching every NFL game, no matter where you live.

11:05 pm: Another Matt Jones sighting! Drink!

11:06 pm: Additional entry to the football drinking game: Whenever a coach challenges a play. You’re going to need lots of booze throughout a football game anyway, why not make good use of it!

11:10 pm: Is now the time to mention that there might not be an NFL season next year? Unfortunately, I can’t find a worthy link to prove this, but, um, yeah. Enjoy it while it lasts, folks!

11:16 pm: Jordan Shipley with a nice return! And it wasn’t a gimme against Colorado!

11:18 pm: Jordan Palmer with the Madden video game scramble for the touchdown pass! He’s no Carson indeed!

11:18 pm: They mentioned Brett Favre! Drink!

11:21 pm: And that’s it, folks! Cowboys win, 16-7. And the loads of old people still holding on to the glory days legions of fans will go ahead and begin their smack talk…now.

Comments
  1. As a devout anti-Cowboys fan, my husband (and I, I suppose), were also tempted to not bother to watch even a bit of the first pre-season game. But the drought of football – sparsely dotted with the draft – and ending with the Hall of Fame inductions, had to end. And so, we picked up a bit of the game. In the end…looking forward to see if the Cowboys will stop blowing it at the end of the season…if Owens will shine as a Bengal and make the Bills realize that maybe they need to sort themselves out a bit…if Favre will finally just stop being a drama queen and make a bloody decision…among other things. Oh, and Albert Haynesworth has FINALLY passed his conditioning test. Things are looking up!

    • tbfiles says:

      Well, the Cowboys were doing quite well in that Vikings game. Two turnovers (gotta count that missed field goal as a turnover also) in Viking territory turned the tide there. So if they can just bunker down this time around…who knows?

  2. blacktygrrrr says:

    I stumbled on this blog by accident. I am an NFL junkie. During the week I blog politics, but Sundays are all about the NFL.

    I am going to check back on this blog throughout the year.

    eric aka the Tygrrrr Express

  3. Brooke says:

    11:01 pm FTW! The hubs is quite excited about football – I’ve lost control of the remote Thursday-Monday until late January. But that’s OK; he gives me the play-by-play and I knit. win-win

  4. I somehow lost track of what time of year it was and was happily surprised to find football on TV last night. We were equally delighted to find our 5 month old daughter was into it. (She’s in for a lot of it over the next several months).

    On Brett Favre: I heard the best stat ever yesterday. If he were to never return his final throw for each of his four NFL teams (Falcons, Packers, Jets, Vikings) will have been an interception. If that’s not a fitting end to his career I don’t know what is.

  5. It would appear that the Cowboys are poised to have a fantastic year… that is assuming that the season-ending injury to John Phillips is the (least) of their worries.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  6. LMAO!!

    Okay, I’ll admit that not even I watched the entire game. I started in mid- First Quarter (I had decided not to watch, I mean CIN?? UGH. Then it’s only a Pre-Season Game…And then I decided, well, Cowboys can Bring it! And as you so eloquently put it, it IS Football!) and stopped at Half Time.
    I have Baby Girls to tend to! Good excuse, huh? 😉

    Anywho, loved the Play by Play. But REALLY Enjoyed the DRINK Part!

    My 0.02¢, I Do want Favre to retire. So that as you stated, hea can send “rush[ing] for ways to cover up their bad prediction.” Also, because I want him to Leave a Legend instead of a Loser. 🙂

    Can’t wait till the Season Starts and I head back here…
    WHAT DO YOU MEAN NO SEASON?!?!?!

    • tbfiles says:

      This thing turned into a Brett Favre discussion quick. I’m sure this is exactly what he wants! Glad you enjoyed the blog, and the drink part. Some of these games can be a bore. Gotta get through it somehow!

  7. WordCrafter says:

    LOL! Very good. Must admit I was bored as I watched that game last night. Suprising.

  8. Looking forward to my husband screaming at the tv in the garage again, Love this time of year. I’ll be sharing some awesome Football party snacks.
    Go Bears!

  9. davidrrapp says:

    There is a certain relief when you hear about it before seeing TV promo’s. I asked my dad earlier in the week when he said there was a game on Sunday, “Whose playing?” He said he did not know. He knew there was a game on but it was of no importance what so ever who was playing. My dad is a life long Steeler fan, he is a big fan of them especially when they are winning. He knew that the Steelers were not playing. I’m not sure he knew that the whole team was there to see Dick LeBeau inducted in the HOF. http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/10220/1078576-66.stm Mr. LeBeau got very little face time…I guess Romo is a little more pretty.

    • tbfiles says:

      Yeah, I saw somewhere how Tony Romo got more face time (through his interview with Andrea Kremer) than any of the inductees. This was the Hall of Fame game, right?

  10. Rob says:

    Nice post.

  11. balladeer says:

    Great blog! Loved this article. I love the arrival of football season but I hate seeing the days get shorter.

  12. Michelle says:

    Good lawd, that game was a complete wash! Long before some poor sap agreed to that match-up, the Cowboys had already won the game. However, I eagerly consumed it after months without football. As a New Orleanian, I am ready for this week’s game between my beloved Saints and the Patriots. Who dat!

  13. YourMVP says:

    Personally, I don’t get hyped up about the pre-season games until someone breaks their leg in the 2nd week. Then the talk becomes about why pre-season is even needed in the first place. cool blog dude!

  14. cheneetot08 says:

    Good post! I guess it’s that time of the season again where football madness is once again the latest fad.

  15. […] Football is back and we are all loving it! […]

  16. murriam826 says:

    ur writing is awesome!

  17. culturespain says:

    Now as a European, of course(!), I understand nothing about American football. It is a mystery to us – kile the rules of cricket to you?

  18. trumanspk says:

    Good one ! football madness is once again the latest fad.
    http://www.trumans.com.pk

  19. jeremywaite says:

    Your profile header rocks! You’re nothing to do with garyvaynerchuk are you?!

    Great post – and keep up the fine writing! 🙂

  20. […] as we whip around the league for Week One of the 91st NFL season. You can find previous live blogs here and […]

  21. […] pm: I officially added “anytime Michael Vick’s name is mentioned” to the Football Drinking Game. We may need a medic over here for my roommate as a […]

  22. soccer says:

    nice one, football rocks the whole globe

  23. […] touched on this briefly in a post last year, but since this is the first full slate of games, why not make it worth your time to drink with a […]

Leave a Reply

