Toolbag Thursday!!

Posted: June 9, 2011 in Basketball, Music, NBA

These guys won’t let me rest ONE DAY!!

Obviously, I have better things to do than let Stephen A. Smith and Lupe Fiasco get my blood pressure up. But, whatever, that’s what Cozaar is for. But today was a prime instance of two guys running their mouths, then hiding behind the “People just be hatin!” cloak. Here’s the problem: It’s not hating when you’re being called out for running your mouth, guys!! If you’re asking, “Now Jordy, what could Lupe Fiasco and Stephen A. Smith say to get you so worked up?” then you’ve come to the right place.

Oh, my favorite Lupe song ever! He should have toned it down about Obama.


Lupe Fiasco
Before we begin, a disclaimer: I think that Lupe Fiasco is an incredible rapper. I saw him live (at the Koger Center—for five dollars!!). I have all three of his studio albums (I even paid for two of them.). So, there’s no ill will toward Lupe. (Although, I do chuckle every time I see the name of a guy all over The Cool–Gemstones, since Gemini was apparently not manly enough..) But. That does not mean that I do not find many a fault with his straight out of the Tea Party claim that Obama is a terrorist. That’s right, our own President is a terrorist, in Lupe’s eyes. Apparently, the policies created by Mr. Obama have inspired others to become terrorists. OK then! Of course, Lupe Fiasco doesn’t vote, so it’s uncertain whether he actually understands what a foreign policy may even be. Also, he didn’t feel the need to elaborate on what actual policies might inspire other terrorists, but then again, who needs to be specific about outlandish claims, right?

Now, Lupe may not be familiar with the Dixie Chicks, but let’s just say that things didn’t work out so well for them when one of their band mates decided to call out George Bush during a concert. I’m not sure how wise it is to directly call out a president that many of your fans voted for (I’m not making that up, am I?). I don’t think that this will happen to Lupe Fiasco, but there are things that you can say, and there are other things that you should just write in a notepad. I did find someone else rightfully taking Lupe to task, but they did it in a nice way! Calling the President a terrorist is one of them. So, instead of trying to turn the tables on people rightfully criticizing you, how about just own up to the fact that you made a crazy and rather untrue statement about the President of the country that you make a living in. Now that would be refreshing.

My mom always mentions how attractive he is. Talk about a nightmare--SAS as my stepdad!!


Stephen A. Smith
SAS is a byproduct of our “loud and proud” society. Seriously, this guy does not have a job in 1985 (I’d advocate turning the clock back to 1985, but not even two-year old Jordy was probably not that much of a writer in 1985). Anyway, many a sports fan LOLed when he made the claim that LeBron James was headed to Miami, well before that thing on TV called The Decision. Well, turns out that SAS was right on the money. Dammit! Anyway, SAS made the rounds on the ESPN shows (Jim Rome is Burning, Mike and Mike, The Herd) this morning, and made the claim that he’s heard about why LeBron James might be struggling in the NBA Finals. And, apparently it’s something personal, beyond basketball. Of course, that had everyone going bonkers. You may have heard about LeBron going adrift last year because his mother may or may not have been getting intimate with one of his teammates. As a result, nothing gets people more fired up than possible LeBron drama.

So, instead of elaborating on this thing that’s “beyond basketball”, SAS gets offended that people are actually listening to his words, seemingly. He spent the first ten minutes of his radio show (My ears began to bleed, he probably kept going) getting all hot and bothered over the fact that people were wondering “Why would SAS pick the day of Game 5 to say that LeBron has some serious off the court ish going on?” I mean, that’s a legitimate question to have, considering the circumstances, correct? Well, not to SAS. Somehow, he painted himself as the victim. (I’d look for a transcript to give you actual quotes, but my eyes would bleed.) But, SAS…you’re the guy who started the firestorm!!! No one would be trying to come up with possible explanations for your comments…if you had just kept your mouth shut!!!! So, let’s lay off the “But why are you guys BLAMING ME?” this time, SAS.

So, there we have it. Two guys who couldn’t keep their mouths shut. Which forced me to run my mouth. But, hey, at least I’m not making any of this stuff up!!!

Comments
  1. zenlizzie says:

    Great post!! Even though i think Lupe could have substituted “US policy” for Obama and been more accurate. One of the reasons I am so unpatriotic is because our policies have hurt so many people and promoted (an armed) violence around the world, for the sake of rich Americans.

    I think Lupe is in the same camp as Cornel West, who is ALWAYS smack talking Obama. These are three smart men that i really admire and support. But I think that Cornet West and Lupe Fiasco have the benefit of playing “What if I were president…” which is a lot different from Obama’s ACTUALLY BEING PRESIDENT. It is easy to throw stones when you really have no opportunity to change US policy.

Leave a Reply

