The Transistion

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

Deep breath. Repeat 719 times

(I just realized that I’ve been on WordPress for just a little over a year. I know that this birthday isn’t quite the event that another person’s birthday is/was, but I suppose it’s significant.)

One of the things that I haven’t done lately is…write. Well, at least in this blog. This sounds like a broken record, but I do have reasons:
1. Because I focus primarily on sports, by the time I think about something to write about, I will see that it’s been well covered already.
2. I usually work ten-hour days, and I go to the gym before that. Takes up quite a bit of time.
3. I’m lazy.
4. I have a hard time staying on task. In a related story, this fact sadly makes me…human.
5. To be completely honest with you, I’ve been going through some things.

I’ll ask the question that you want to ask: Jordy, what “things” are you talking about?

I’ve spent the past 12 months making important, life-altering decisions. It seemed like every few weeks, I was changing course in something and going deeper into something else. To recap the major changes:
-I applied to, and got accepted into grad school for Sports Media
-I got engaged to my then girlfriend of 2 years
-I changed my mind about grad school, for a number of reasons (translation: I chickened out)
-I moved with my current job to Wilmington, NC
-A few days before she was supposed to move here, I broke up with my then fiancée (cue the asshole music!)
Now, instead of spending time in some sort of drunken bender, I’ve really been forced to examine myself in a number of different ways. Beyond the obvious, (realizing, then accepting my role in the demise of my relationship & trying to fit in with a new set of priorities in a new city) I’ve set a goal to really figure out what I should be doing with my life (And it turns out that I’m not the only one). I’ve also been taking some steps to rehab myself emotionally, mentally and spiritually as I try to pick up the pieces.

So, of course this ordeal has been twofold. Remember the whole “changed my mind about grad school” part? Well, I figured that I should get married before tackling grad school (in hindsight, uh…). Well, then the move to Wilmington happened. So, once the other half of the equation was no longer part of the equation, what was I supposed to do with my “put on hold” career goals?

The only thing that I ever thought I would be good at doing is something that involved sports. Because I lacked that thing people refer to as ath-a-letic (courtesy Charles Barkley) ability, I was the one giving play by-play during pickup basketball, football, and baseball games. And, well, 13-year-old Jordy wasn’t too bad at it. I then went on to doing sports on the “news” broadcast at high school. So, of course I should do sports journalism, right? I mean, what else was out there for me.

Man, I really wish that I would have answered this question ten years ago.

So now, I’m at a point where I need to do something. Of course, I should also realize that I’ve actually done pretty well for myself thus far (a lot more difficult than you might imagine). I think that these things will help me write better. Hell, I mean, I should try to take advantage of anything that might help me write at all, right?

So, I’ve done enough talking about what’s been going on. What the hell does this have to do with The Blacktooth Files? Well, I thought you’d never ask!

Comments

Leave a Reply

