CAPs Thursday!!

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Exercise, Fitness, Lifestyle

Let’s go ahead and get one thing out of the way: I am not a fitness expert. You probably shouldn’t do anything I suggest in these posts without consulting either a trainer or a physician. So, with that disclaimer out of the way, YOU CAN’T SUE ME!

So, last week’s push up had you using other apparatuses. That’s not fair!!!! So, I decided to give you a break this week. This push up involves using your legs a little, and holding your position for a change. I don’t really have a name for it, but I suppose I can call it The Twist.

The Twist

Do those shorts make my butt look big?

1. Start in a full plank position (not that stupid thing that sadly swept the country, this
2. Go down in a push up motion, but bring your left leg up to where your foot is in the air, knee slightly bent, and your body twists.

Apparently, it's all in the hips.

3. Hold that position for, say…five seconds, then push back up into a normal push(ed) up position.
4. Repeat with opposite leg. Do this exercise for one minute, three sets.

This push up really isn’t that difficult, but it does take a lot of discipline. I think it works your shoulders a little more than normal push ups, and there’s the extra benefit of working your love handles. Worth a try if you’re into the wacky shit like I am if you’re looking for something different.

Comments
  1. zenlizzie says:

    Ummm I probably cannot do this. I like the twisty ones from the JM dvd, but otherwise I half ass my way through all forms of push ups and planks. I’m too heavy! All ya’ll skinny bitches should strap on a bookbag full of krispy kremes for push ups so you can get on my level!!

  2. […] you’re not familiar with CAPs, don’t worry! I’ve got you covered. Today’s push up involves a squat. Goes a little like this: 1. Start in a squat position. 2. […]

Leave a Reply

